How To Clear Browsing History, Cookies, Cache of Google Chrome on MacBook Pro (macOS 12.1 Monterey)

Apple has recently rolled out the macOS 12.1 Monterey update for Mac computers. While the update is pretty stable, some users have encountered minor issues with some of the apps.

One of those apps is the Google Chrome that reportedly started to crash or stop responding shortly after the update.

The good news is that the problem is actually not that serious. It can be fixed by clearing the browsing history, cookies and other site data including cached images and files.

How To Clear Chrome Cache and Cookies

In this tutorial, we will show you how to clear browsing data of Chrome. So if you’re one of the users that’s having some issues with the browser after an update, continue reading as we may be able to help you.

Before you follow the steps below, make sure to sync your data with your Google account so that you can restore them after resetting the browser.

When ready, follow these steps:

Step 1: To begin, launch Google Chrome.
Step 2: Click the More icon (stacked three dots) at the top right corner of the Chrome browser next to your profile picture.
Step 3: When the Menu pops up, click on Settings.

This will bring you to the next screen with all the browser settings and configuration.

Step 4: Click Security and Privacy on the left pane.
Step 5: Click on Clear Browsing Data option.

This will bring you to the screen that allows you to choose which data to delete.

Step 6: For the time range, select All Time from the drop-down menu.

This means that you will delete all the data that have been accumulated ever since you started using Chrome.

Step 7: Place a check in the boxes of the data you want to delete.

Under the Basic tab, your options are Browsing history, Cookies and other site data, and Cached images and files.

Step 8: When ready, click Clear data.

This will immediately delete the data from your computer.

If you want to delete more stuff or choose more specific data to clear, then you have to click on the Advanced tab.

You will have the option to also delete the following:

1. Passwords and other sign-in data – this option includes the saved passwords, which means, you will have to re-enter the correct passwords when you visit web pages or sites that require you to log in to use their services.

2. Autofill form data – these are the data that automatically fill up text fields of sites that you recently or frequently visit.

3. Site settings – this will clear cache saved on your computer for website settings or preferences.

4. Hosted app data – this include the data of clients you downloaded on your computer including Dropbox, Pixlr Express and Google Drive.

Always remember that after selecting the data you want to delete, you have to click Clear data to execute the command.

Most of the time, clearing the browser cache and data will fix issues you previously have with the app. So try to see if the problem is fixed after doing this.

We hope that this simple tutorial can help you.

Thanks for reading and have a nice day!