in , , , , ,

Stop Your iPhone Battery Drain Issue by Deleting Uber and Waze Apps (Until iOS 11)

Update Aug 29, 2017: Uber announced today they will restore users’ ability to turn on GPS “while using” the app only, the app update should start rolling out this week on iPhones.

Last summer, Uber found itself amidst yet another controversy when the company updated its privacy policy to create the legal ground for tracking users even after their trip ends. The new, invasive tracking was enabled with the release of a major update at the end of the last year, and it didn’t take long before first users started to complain about major battery drain issues.

“We’re always thinking about ways we can improve the rider experience from sharpening our ETA estimates to identifying the best pick up location on any given street. Location is at the heart of the Uber experience, and we’re asking riders to provide us with more information to achieve these goals,” an Uber spokesperson replied when asked about the situation by The Verge.

Most apps on iOS allow users to choose whether they want to allow location access always, only when using the app, or never. However, in the case of Uber, option to only allow location access while using the app is not present. Until very recently, the same was true for Waze.

If you choose to always allow location access, you have no way of knowing that Uber or Waze don’t track your every move. And if you choose to disable location access completely, most features will stop working. The solution? Delete the problematic apps and install alternatives that respect your privacy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

iPhone 6 loses battery power fast, shuts down on its own, other power issues

iPhone 7 won’t turn on, no power issue, battery power drains fast, other power issues