How to Reset All Settings on iPhone 13 without Deleting User Data (iOS 15)

This post will walk you through restoring the default settings on an iOS 15 device without deleting any downloads and media files you saved in the internal memory. Read on to learn how to reset all settings on iPhone 13 without deleting user data.

iOS 15 Reset All Settings

Every iOS device has different reset commands that can be activated whenever restoring the default settings is deemed necessary.

Among the  preloaded reset options in modern iOS devices, particularly the iPhone 13 series include a network settings reset, all settings reset, keyboard dictionary reset, Home screen layout reset and location & privacy reset.

Tackled in this quick iOS walkthrough is the option to reset all settings on the iPhone 13. 

This reset is often recommended before attempting a master reset. The reason for this is because the reset all settings command restores the default settings without erasing user files and downloaded content.

When to Reset all Settings on your iPhone?

Resetting all settings is often regarded among the potential solutions to various software issues tied to some messed up settings, software conflicts and other random bugs and glitches. As a result, all system settings are restored to their defaults.

Performing this reset is also recommended when dealing with software-related issues that instigated from an iOS update.

Among the common problems that can be rectified by resetting all settings include random app crashes, system lags, as well as network-related errors.

To activate any of these reset options on the new Apple iPhone 13, you will need to access the new Transfer or reset iPhone menu.

If you’re new to the iOS platform and need some input on how to carry out this reset on your new iPhone 13, then feel free to use this post as personal reference.

Make sure that your iPhone 13 is updated. If you haven’t already, download and install the latest iOS version available for your device.

Easy Steps to Reset All Settings on iPhone 13 without deleting user data

The following steps are also applicable when resetting all settings on other iPhone models that are running on the iOS 15.2.1 platform.

However, there may be some slight difference on the actual interface given that screens and menu items vary between device models and wireless service providers.

Once you’ve got everything set, you may go ahead and follow these steps.

Step 1: To get started, tap the Settings icon from the Home screen to open the Settings app.

Step 2: While on the main Settings app menu, find and then tap General.

Step 3: On the succeeding menu, scroll down to the bottom section and then tap Transfer or Reset iPhone.

Step 4: Tap Reset to proceed.

Step 5: On the next menu, tap Reset All Settings from the given options.

Step 6: Enter your device passcode if prompted and then tap Reset settings on the pop-up warning to confirm.

What happens after you reset all settings on your iPhone?

The phone will then start erasing all settings including network settings, Home screen layout, privacy settings, keyboard dictionary, location settings and custom app preferences. Saved Apple Pay cards data will also be deleted or restored to their default values.

The entire reset process usually doesn’t take too long to complete. Refrain from using your device while the reset is ongoing so as not to interrupt the process.

When the reset gets interrupted or not completed, there’s a higher chance that your device would succumb to some fatal errors and may no longer work properly. Also make sure that your iPhone is sufficiently charged.

Once the device is finished deleting all custom settings, it will reboot automatically. Just wait for it to finish rebooting and once it’s up, you should be all set to reconfigure necessary settings.

And since all settings are restored to their defaults, you may have to re-enable necessary features that are disabled by defaults in order to use them again on your phone.

Setting default apps for specific file types or data protocol is also needed so expect your iPhone to ask which app to use or set as default when attempting to open a specific file online.

All saved information and multimedia files media files like photos, messages, notes, email, videos, music and other content stored in the internal memory will not be deleted. That said, you can still access and use all your data from the iPhone storage anytime you want.

And that’s all about restoring the default settings on the Apple iPhone 13 in iOS 15.2.1 without deleting any saved content and user data.

Please keep posted for more comprehensive iOS tutorials and troubleshooting guides on this site. Or you can check out this YouTube channel to view more comprehensive tutorial and troubleshooting videos including recent iOS devices.

You Might Also Want To Read: