How To Reset Network Settings on MacBook Pro (macOS 12.1 Monterey)

Your MacBook Pro relies on the stability of your Wi-Fi connection to go online. However, there are times when network-related problems occur and you need to do something to fix them.

Most of the time, minor issues can be fixed by simply rebooting your Mac. But there are instances when you really have to reset your Mac’s network settings to make it work perfectly again.

What happens when you reset the network settings on your Mac is that it will delete all settings and preferences relating to wireless and Internet functionality.

Aside from that, it is one of the most effective solutions in fixing connectivity issues including slow or no connection, constant Wi-Fi disconnection and many others.

That’s the reason why it’s very important that you learn how to do this procedure properly so that you can easily fix network issues should you encounter some while using your MacBook Pro, or any Mac computer for that matter.

Resetting Network Settings on Mac

This procedure is pretty straightforward and we’re gonna use a Mac that’s already running on macOS 12.1 Monterey.

Don’t worry about your files and data because this reset won’t delete any of them. In fact, this will only affect your connection and anything relating to the Wi-Fi functionality of your computer.

When you’re ready, follow these steps to reset the network settings of your Mac:

Step 1: Click the Apple icon on the Menu bar in the top-left corner of your screen.

This will pull up a Menu.

Step 2: Click System preferences among other options.

This will open the the window that allows you to change the settings of almost all features and aspects on your device.

Step 3: Find and click Network.

This opens the network settings.

Step 4: Click on your Wi-Fi connection from the list of connections in the left pane.
Step 5: Now click the minus icon under the list of connections.

Doing so will delete your Mac’s Wi-Fi network and all of its settings.

Step 6: After doing that, click Apply.

Immediately after that, your MacBook Pro will be disconnected from your Wi-Fi network and the Wi-Fi icon will show an exclamation point.

To reconnect, click the Plus icon and then select Wi-Fi interface.

Then, click Turn Wi-Fi on to re-enable Wi-Fi service.

Most of the time, it will automatically reconnect to the network you’re previously connected but if not, then you’ll have to click on Wi-Fi networks and re-enter the passcode of the network you want to connect to.

Regardless of whether your MacBook reconnects to the network automatically or you’ll have to manually enter the password, it will have a new IP address and new Wi-Fi settings with new network configuration files as well.

Aside from the fact that it will delete your network connection, it will also reset Internet settings on your Mac. That’s what network reset usually does no matter the device you’re using.

We hope that this simple tutorial can help you one way or another.

Thanks for reading and have a great day!