How To Factory Reset An iPhone

You may have to factory reset an iPhone if it’s no longer working properly, or has some unknown issues with its firmware. It will bring the device back to its factory default settings so that you can set it up as a new device again.

A factory reset has always been the most effective solution to any kinds of problem you may encounter, as long as it’s not with the hardware. Needless to say, if your iPhone is simply acting up and not working as it should and you don’t know what caused it, you can always expect that if you reset it, it should work perfectly again.

The downside of the reset is that you may lose some of your files or data that are stored locally. That’s why we always suggest that before you actually reset your device, you should first take some time backing up important files you don’t want to lose.

How To Factory Reset An iPhone

Time Needed : 4 minutes

You can reset your iPhone without using iTunes or connecting it to a computer. In fact, the factory reset has to be done on the phone itself. However, it goes without saying that you should be able to access the Settings of your device for you to be able to do this. With that being said, here’s what you should do:

  1. From the Home screen, tap Settings.

    Depending on how you’ve set up your iPhone, the Settings can often be found in the Home screen together with other pre-installed apps. u003cbru003eu003cimg src=u0022http://thecellguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/1-1.jpgu0022 alt=u0022factory reset an iphone settingsu0022 style=u0022width: 400px;u0022u003e

  2. Find and tap General.

    Sometimes you may have to scroll down a little bit to find the option.u003cbru003eu003cimg src=u0022http://thecellguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/2-1.jpgu0022 alt=u0022factory reset an iphone generalu0022 style=u0022width: 400px;u0022u003e

  3. Swipe up to find Reset and then tap on it.

    It’s the second to the last option you can find under General settings.u003cbru003eu003cimg src=u0022http://thecellguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/3-1.jpgu0022 alt=u0022factory reset an iphone resetu0022 style=u0022width: 400px;u0022u003e

  4. Tap Erase All Contents and Settings.

    There are other types of resets you can find on this screen as well.u003cbru003e u003cimg src=u0022http://thecellguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/4-2.jpgu0022 alt=u0022factory reset an iphone erase contentsu0022 style=u0022width: 400px;u0022u003e

  5. When the dialog box pops up, tap Erase Now.

    I assume at this point that you’ve already taken some time to backup your important files and data. u003cbru003eu003cimg src=u0022http://thecellguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/5.jpgu0022 alt=u0022factory reset an iphone erase nowu0022 style=u0022width: 400px;u0022u003e

  6. Enter your passcode to proceed with the reset.

    This is the first security measure that confirms your identity before the reset. u003cbru003eu003cimg src=u0022http://thecellguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/6.jpgu0022 alt=u0022factory reset an iphone passcodeu0022 style=u0022width: 400px;u0022u003e

  7. A dialog box will pop up at the bottom of the screen, tap Erase iPhone.

    A similar dialog box will pop up again and you still have to tap Erase iPhone to continue.u003cbru003eu003cimg src=u0022http://thecellguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/7.jpgu0022 alt=u0022factory reset an iphone erase iphoneu0022 style=u0022width: 400px;u0022u003e

  8. Enter your Apple ID Password to confirm your identity. When finished, tap Erase to proceed.

    The reset will start after this procedure. u003cbru003eu003cimg src=u0022http://thecellguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/8.jpgu0022 alt=u0022factory reset an iphone passwordu0022 style=u0022width: 400px;u0022u003e

Tools
  • iOS, iOS 13
Materials
  • iPhone

The reset will take a few minutes to complete. Your iPhone will reboot when it’s almost finished and after such a reboot, you will be prompted to set up your device again. And that’s the culmination of the reset process.

Some iPhone Reset FAQs

Does factory reset erase iCloud?

No, it doesn’t. Whatever files or pictures you saved in your iCloud, it will remain in your account and you can always access them. However, whatever files synced or downloaded on your iPhone from iCloud will be deleted locally. You will have to log into your iCloud again after the reset to access them.

Does erasing iPhone delete everything?

The factory reset deletes all your personal information, files, apps, songs, accounts, etc. from your iPhone. However, any information or files you uploaded in the cloud will remain in the cloud until you access and download them to your iPhone. If you simply want to delete something from iCloud, a reset will not be able to do that. But if you want to erase some of your files locally, then a reset can help.

Does factory reset delete photos?

Yes, it does. But only the photos that are stored locally in your iPhone’s internal storage. Photos that have been uploaded to iCloud will remain untouched until you access your account and delete them.

And that’s pretty much it, guys!

I hope that we’ve been able to properly show you how to factory reset an iPhone as well as answer some of your questions.

Please support us by subscribing to our YouTube Channel. Thanks for reading!