This post will teach you how to delete saved Wi-Fi networks on the iPhone 12. Read on if you need help removing any unused network from your iPhone’s wireless network directory.
Forget Wi-Fi Network
When your phone joins and connects to a Wi-Fi network, that network will be saved in its wireless directory. Thus, it will show up among other Wi-Fi networks available.
While this brings some pros, particularly when reconnecting to that same network, keeping these networks in the directory can also trigger some issues. In fact, many iPhone owners have encountered problems connecting to Wi-Fi due to a corrupted network in the Wi-Fi directory.
Problems may likewise arise if you’ve recently changed your Wi-Fi password and the old password is cached and still used by the saved Wi-Fi network. That said, the device won’t be able to connect due to a conflicting network credential.
This is when forgetting a network comes in handy. Doing so will likewise prevent your device from automatically rejoining a network even when it’s in range.
If you’re wondering how to forget a Wi-Fi network on the iPhone 12, I’ve laid out a simple video walkthrough for you to follow.
Easy Steps to Delete Saved WiFi Network on iPhone 12
The following method is likewise applicable when deleting any saved network on other iOS devices that are running on the same iOS version with the iPhone 12. Actual menu options and screens may vary between device models and service providers.
1. When ready, unlock your iPhone to access the Home screen.
On the Home screen, you will see different shortcut controls or icons for launching pre-installed and downloaded apps.
2. Tap on the Settings icon to proceed.
The main settings menu opens next. Here, you will see a list of all basic and advanced iOS features you can manage and utilize.
3. Tap Wi-Fi to proceed.
The Wi-Fi menu opens next. Here, you can view and manage your iPhone’s wireless internet connection like disconnecting or switching between available Wi-Fi networks.
Under My Networks section are the names of the wireless network saved on your device.
4. To delete a network from the list, simply tap the information icon represented by a small letter “i” located next to the S S I D or network name.
The selected network’s menu will show up on the next display.
5. Select Forget This Network from the given options.
A pop-up screen asking if you’d like to forget the Wi-Fi network will appear.
6. Read and review the entire message to learn what happens after executing the command. Then, tap Forget to confirm.
That should prompt the device to remove the network from the list. Your device will no longer join this Wi-Fi network automatically.
7. To see if it works, turn off the Wi-Fi switch and then turn it back on.
Your phone will then scan for available Wi-Fi networks. If the recently forgotten network is within range, it will show up under the networks list but your phone will not connect to it unless you do so.
And that’s about deleting a saved Wi-Fi network from the new iPhone 12.
If your iPhone still connects to the recently forgotten network automatically, perform a soft reset. Problems like this usually occur when the network system is glitching. And the simplest yet very effective solution to minor system errors is a soft reset.
If an iPhone restart doesn’t solve the problem, then that’s when you should consider performing a network reset. Doing so will delete all your existing network settings including all saved Wi-Fi networks and Bluetooth connections. Any associated network errors will also be rectified in the process.
More Video Tutorials
To view more comprehensive tutorials and troubleshooting clips on different mobile phones and tablets, feel free to visit The Droid Guy channel on YouTube anytime.
You might also want to read: