This post will walk you through activating the iOS feature that triggers the iPhone 14 to automatically offload unused applications and services to free up storage. Here’s a quick guide to automatically offload unused apps on the Apple iPhone 14 series.
Estimate Cost : 0
Time Needed : 3 minutes
Offloading an app in iOS terms refers to a process of deleting an application without affecting the app’s data and relevant documents. It can be carried out manually and automatically.
Depicted below is the actual process of automatically offloading unused apps on the iPhone 14 running on the latest iOS platform.
Feel free to refer to this guide whenever you need help using this feature on your recently procured iPhone.
When everything is set, launch the iOS Settings app by tapping on the gear (Settings) icon from the Home screen.
You can also access the Settings app shortcut icon from the iPhone’s app library.
Either way will take you to the same iOS settings menu with the same options.
In the Settings menu, scroll to find App Store from the given items then tap on it to continue.
The App Store menu opens next.
Scroll down to the bottom section of the App Store menu then tap to turn the Offload Unused Apps switch ON.
When the switch turns green or highlighted, it indicates that the feature is enabled. Otherwise, it’ll appear gray.
- Apple iPhone 14
When enabled, any unused apps will be automatically removed from the iPhone system but all its documents and data remain. Reinstalling the app will also place back its data for as long as the app is still available in the App Store.
Manual Offloading of Individual Apps
If you don’t want your device to delete all unused apps at once but only a certain application, then you can just use the iPhone’s manual offloading function instead.
- To manually offload individual apps, just head over to your device Settings-> General-> iPhone Storage menu then select the app that you’d like to offload. Just tap on the desired app then tap Offload App on the succeeding window. If prompted, read tap Offload App on the final warning to confirm.
The selected application will then be removed from the system. As a result, it frees up storage used by the app. All the app’s data and documents won’t be affected and so you would still be able to use them whenever you decide to reinstall the app. This however is only possible if the offloaded application is still available in the App Store.
Offloading and Deleting Apps
The main difference between offloading and deleting apps in iOS is that offloading deletes the app without affecting the app’s data but deleting permanently removes the app and its data from the system.
When you redownload and install an offloaded app in the App Store, all its data and relevant documents will likewise be retrieved. Meanwhile, when you reinstall a deleted app, it’s only the app that’s reinstated as all your previous data and documents are already gone permanently.
Both methods however contribute to the iPhone storage optimization, particularly in terms of freeing up storage space.
Offloading apps is also deemed a helpful solution to performance-related issues like when an iPhone keeps lagging, freezing or crashing.
And that’s one way to optimize your iPhone’s storage by automatically offloading unused apps.