How to Get Rid of Your Photos and Videos from Your IPad—And Recycle Your Memory Storage

Google + App Photo Revised

It is no secret these days that Apple has begun what is known as a bi-annual (or two-times-a-year) product cycle, whereby the iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch are given small upgrades (faster processor chip, thinner and lighter body, improved audio, etc.). The iPhone 5 brought forth 4GLTE, one of the most fundamental technologies missing from the iPhone’s feature lineup. With each new product upgrade, consumers are left to decide whether or not they either 1) want to purchase the new iPhone or iPad, or 2) wait until Fall season to purchase a gift for Christmas. Currently, iPhone and iPad production is down below 50% at the moment, since consumers know that a new iPhone and iPad will be here in a matter of weeks (March).

If you are like me, you own a third-generation iPad and are disinterested in getting the fourth-generation iPad; unfortunately for you, your iPad’s internal memory storage is running low. I find myself in this situation recently; checking my iPad storage in my settings, I discovered that out of 32GB, I only had 7GB left. I had thoughts of giving in and purchasing the fourth-generation iPad because I would soon run out of memory storage and would need a new one to take notes for seminars. The third-generation iPad is both a blessing and a curse, thanks to Apple’s complete overhaul of its adapter system. The new Lightning-compatible adapters are appealing because of the comfort that comes with interchangeable adapters for all the iDevices. I’m still good with my iPhone 4S, iPad 3, and iPod Touch 3G, but things will change when I purchase a new iPhone or iPad.

To solve the internal memory storage problem, I decided to do something that I had not done in the entire year I owned the iPad 3: download Google +. I have owned a Google + account for at least the last year and cherish Google’s “Instant Upload” feature. Instant Upload allows you to take pictures or video on your smartphone or tablet and leave them – knowing that the application will upload your photos and videos automatically. In other words, “set it and forget it” with Instant Upload. In order to eliminate my pictures from my iPad, I had to have somewhere else to place them. Instant Upload has an unlimited amount of cloud storage for my photos. The best part of it all is that Google’s cloud storage is free, while Apple removes 5GB of your paid memory amount to store your photos, videos, and documents.

Today, I am going to show you how to recycle your memory and save yourself from spending more money on a new iPad when you don’t have to. First, you must log into Google +. Once you log into Google +, you can then click the “triple bar” at the top of the screen, where you will see a group of options in your top, left-hand corner. One of the options available is “settings”. Select “settings,” then choose the second option down called “Instant Upload/When to Upload.” Select the right arrow on the option and you will come to a page that lets you set up your instant upload settings. I prefer to keep my instant upload on, whether over Wi-Fi or mobile connectivity. Since this may be your first time setting up the feature, go to the bottom of the screen and select “Upload all photos and videos.” This will take some time if you have numerous photos (I had 1,534), but it will work seamlessly once you set it up. Then, you can take pictures and not worry about uploading them.

Once you do this, delete them from the memory of your iPad. They will not delete from your Google photos unless you go to Google + and do it on your own. This should help you reuse your memory (in my case, 32GB) and prevent you from making a second purchase without rationale.